Meatloaf

When it’s cold and wintry here in TX, John and I both crave comfort food. In general, I’m not a big meatloaf fan, but I LOVE this recipe. It’s really the only meatloaf recipe I will eat – probably because my mom basically made this recipe when I was growing up. My only changes from hers are: using fresh sage, garlic, & onion and subbing oatmeal for bread. Still tastes fantastic, in my opinion! Enjoy!

Meatloaf 1

Meatloaf
Adapted from “Betty Crocker’s New Cookbook”
Makes one loaf, 6 servings

Ingredients:
1 1/2 lbs 93-96% lean ground beef (grass-fed, if you can find it)
1/2 cup skim milk (may need more, depending on how dry the mixture is)
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tsp chopped fresh sage leaves
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground mustard (dry mustard)
1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
1 large egg
3/4 cup oats
1/4 cup finely chopped onion

1/2 cup ketchup, for topping

Instructions:
1. Heat oven to 350F.

2. Mix all ingredients except ketchup. Start with 1/2 cup milk, and if mixture is dry, add more milk as needed to make a shapeable loaf (but don’t add to much so that you have a mushy loaf).

3. Shape into a loaf and place into an ungreased 13×9-inch pan. Spread ketchup over the top of the loaf.
Meatloaf - shaped

4. Insert meat thermometer into the center of the loaf (do not touch the pan – make sure it is in the center of the meat). Bake uncovered 1 hour to 1 1/4 hours, until the thermometer reads 160F.
Meatloaf - cooking

5. Remove from oven, and let stand for 5 minutes before slicing.

**Note** This is the meatloaf recipe that my mom always made when I was growing up (with my slight changes – fresh sage, garlic, and onion instead of dried; and oatmeal instead of bread). It is the *ONLY* meatloaf I have ever really liked. Enjoy!!

Nutritional info:
Calories: 270.2
Total Fat: 8.6 g
Cholesterol: 96.2 mg
Sodium: 570.8 mg
Total Carbs: 15.8 g
Dietary Fiber: 1.2 g
Protein: 27.2 g

1 thought on “Meatloaf

Leave a comment