Anil’s Lentils

I was scrolling through, and realized I have never posted my friend Anil’s Indian lentil recipe.  I was sure I had posted it at some point, but I can’t find it!  So, I’m posting it for you now.

This was probably the first Indian food I ever ate! Years ago, when I was in grad school, my friend Anil would have the rest of us over for dinner, and this dish was his specialty. He spent hours making it, and we usually didn’t eat until about 10pm – mostly because we were all goofing around while he and his roommates cooked, drank beer, and listened to music. It was always a special treat, and we always looked forward to a dinner invitation to Anil’s house. When we both finished grad school – at my graduation party, in fact – I begged Anil to share his recipe. He ended up writing it for me on a party napkin (which I still have)! I’m so glad he shared it!  Enjoy!

Anil’s Indian Lentils

Recipe from Anil
Serves 10

Ingredients:
2 cup dried yellow or red lentils
5 cups water
4 Tbsp canola oil
2 Tbsp yellow mustard seeds
2 Tbsp cumin seeds
2 tsp red pepper flakes
14 oz canned diced tomatoes
1 medium onion, chopped
2 green chiles, chopped (I use Anaheim or hatch chiles)
2 Tbsp chili powder
2 Tbsp tumeric
2 tsp table salt
1 cup cilantro, chopped

Instructions:
In a pressure cooker, combine lentils and water. Bring to a boil (high pressure), turn down heat and cook 10-15 min.

Meanwhile, in another medium saucepan, combine oil, mustard seeds, cumin seeds, and dried red pepper flakes. Cook until seeds pop. Then add tomatoes, chopped onions, chopped cilantro, chopped chiles, chili powder, tumeric, and salt. Simmer for about 5 minutes.

When lentils are finished, pour in the vegetable/spice mixture. Stir to combine. Serve over brown basmati rice or with a piece of naan.

Nutritional info:
Calories: 229.5
Total Fat: 7.3 g
Saturated Fat: 0.5 g
Polyunsaturated Fat: 2.0 g
Monounsaturated Fat: 4.0 g
Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
Sodium: 594.5 mg
Potassium: 90.8 mg
Total Carbohydrate: 29.1 g
Dietary Fiber: 5.8 g
Sugars: 2.6 g
Protein: 12.3 g

One thought on “Anil’s Lentils

Leave a Reply

