Bacon Jam and Brie Tarts

I am a very organized person – I keep an inventory of my pantry, freezers, etc. on my phone. But sometimes I’m *still* surprised by what I find! A few days ago, I found a jar of bacon jam in the pantry. I thought, “What on earth did I buy this for? What was I planning to make with this?” So, I decided to do some online searching for recipes using bacon jam. I came across one on the Wry Toast blog, but it had instructions to *make* bacon jam (which I already had!), so I just adapted their method using my store-bought bacon jam. I ended up taking these to a friend’s house, and they were so popular that my friend asked me to bring these to the next party! These are soooo tasty! Enjoy!

Bacon Jam and Brie Tarts

Slightly adapted from Wry Toast blog
Serves 15 (appetizer)

Ingredients:
2.5 Tbsp bacon jam (I used HEB’s Cookwell & Company Better Than Good Bacon Jam)
4 oz brie, rind cut off
1 pkg Athens Filo shells (15 per pkg)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350.

2. Place phyllo shells into mini muffin pans. Cut rind off brie, then cut into 15 pieces. Place one piece of cheese into each shell. Top each with 1/2 tsp of bacon jam.

3. Bake for 10 minutes, until cheese is melted and shells are browned.

Nutritional info:
Calories: 47.8
Total Fat: 3.3 g
Saturated Fat:1.4 g
Polyunsaturated Fat: 0.1 g
Monounsaturated Fat: 0.6 g
Cholesterol: 8.4 mg
Sodium: 72.6 mg
Potassium: 11.5 mg
Total Carbohydrate: 2.9 g
Dietary Fiber: 0.0 g
Sugars: 0.7 g
Protein: 1.7 g

Leave a Reply

