Chicken Pad Thai

Recently, I was browsing the aisles at Whole Foods (dangerous, I know!), and I came across brown rice Pad Thai noodles. I had never made Pad Thai before, but thought – why not? So, I searched my cookbooks and online, and I found a recipe that I could mold into my own. The result? Some tasty chicken Pad Thai, for sure! Enjoy!

Chicken Pad Thai

Adapted from Allrecipes.com TRANSMOTICON
Serves 4

Ingredients:
8 oz brown rice pad Thai noodles (I use Annie Chun’s brand)
4 tsp sunflower oil, divided
1 lb chicken breast, cubed
1 egg
1 Tbsp white wine vinegar
2 Tbsp fish sauce
1 Tbsp sugar
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
2 cups bean sprouts, washed

Directions:
1. Cook noodles as directed on the package. Drain, and set aside.

2. Heat 2 tsp oil in a wok or large heavy skillet. Saute chicken until browned. Remove, and set aside.

3. Heat remaining 2 tsp oil in wok over medium-high heat. Crack egg into hot oil, and cook until firm. Stir in chicken, and cook for 5 minutes. Add softened noodles, vinegar, fish sauce, sugar and red pepper. Adjust seasonings to taste. Mix while cooking, until noodles are tender. Add bean sprouts, and mix for 3 minutes.

Nutritional info:
Calories: 414.4
Total Fat: 8.0 g
Saturated Fat: 1.8 g
Polyunsaturated Fat: 3.2 g
Monounsaturated Fat: 1.3 g
Cholesterol: 110.5 mg
Sodium: 797.6 mg
Potassium: 332.4 mg
Total Carbohydrate: 51.0 g
Dietary Fiber: 5.0 g
Sugars: 6.5 g
Protein: 33.7 g

Leave a Reply

