BBQ Meatballs

I’ve been making meatballs for years – usually for Italian recipes, but only a few years ago my sister mentioned this method of making BBQ meatballs in the crockpot. She told me they had grape jelly in them, and I was shocked! But they were tasty!

A couple of months ago, my husband was having some friends over to watch football, and I wanted to serve some football-type appetizers.  So I looked online for a recipe that seemed similar to my sister’s method and found the recipe on the “I heart naptime” blog. I used my homemade meatball recipe (just without Italian seasonings) instead of premade meatballs, but otherwise the method is the same.

These turned out great! We served them straight out of the crockpot, and my husband set out some small rolls for the guys who wanted to make a mini-meatball sub. They were a big hit!

BBQ Meatballs

Slightly adapted from I heart naptime blog
Serves 50 (per meatball)

Ingredients:
2 recipes homemade meatballs (25 meatballs per recipe), without Italian seasoning
1 18oz jar organic grape jelly
1 18oz jar barbecue sauce (I like KC Masterpiece)

Directions:
Mix cooked meatballs, jelly, and bbq sauce in a crockpot. Heat until warm (about 2 hours), serve.

Nutritional info (per meatball):
Calories 71.9
Total Fat 0.9 g
Saturated Fat 0.7 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 0.1 g
Monounsaturated Fat 0.1 g
Cholesterol 17.4 mg
Sodium 135.6 mg
Potassium 2.9 mg
Total Carbohydrate 11.7 g
Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
Sugars 9.6 g
Protein 4.0 g

Leave a Reply

