Chicken Stock

I often think of just how many things I use chicken stock for, and several years ago, I decided to make my own. I did a little bit of experimenting, and I came up with this method.

Each time we have chicken (with bones and/or skin), I save the bones & skin in a gallon-sized ziplock bag, and throw it in the freezer. When the bag is full, it’s time to make stock! Usually from this amount, I can make about 9-12 cups of stock. I freeze it in useable portions (from 1-3 cups), then thaw as needed.

Chicken Stock
A Karen Original

Leftover chicken bones (with bits of meat & skin still attached) – enough to fill a gallon-sized ziplock bag
1-2 onions, peeled & quartered
2 carrots, scrubbed and cut into large chunks
2 celery stalks (with leaves, if available), washed & cut into large chunks
1/2 Tbsp peppercorns
1 tsp sea salt
4 thyme sprigs (or 1 tsp dried thyme)
2 bay leaves

Directions:
Place bones & veggies & seasonings into crockpot or stockpot. Add filtered water to pot – enough to cover bones and veggies by about 1 inch.

For stockpot, bring to a boil, then simmer 2-3 hours, covered.

For crockpot, cook on high for 6-8 hours.

Strain stock into large container, then refrigerate overnight.

Skim fat off top, then use or divide and freeze.

Leave a Reply

