Cranberry Sauce

I grew up eating canned, jellied cranberry sauce, and I always liked it. However, several years ago, we were hosting our first-ever Thanksgiving dinner, and some friends, my parents, and my in-laws (they were still the future in-laws) were attending. My mother-in-law suggested that she could make cranberry sauce, and I think that was the first Thanksgiving *ever* that I had fresh cranberry sauce! It was fantastic, and when I decided to make some the next year, I asked her for the recipe and she said it was just cranberries and sugar. So, I decided to look for an actual “recipe”, and I found this one. It was also fantastic, and I’ve been making it ever since!

Cranberry sauce

Cranberry Sauce
Adapted from Cooking Light, Nov 2002
Serves 8 (1/4 cup each)

Ingredients:
12 oz fresh cranberries
2/3 cup sugar
1 cup apple cider

Directions:
Combine all ingredients in a medium saucepan; bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Reduce heat; simmer 10 minutes or until cranberries pop, stirring occasionally. Chill.

Nutritional info:
Calories: 99.4
Total Fat: 0.1 g
Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
Sodium: 1.5 mg
Total Carbs: 25.7 g
Dietary Fiber: 2.0 g
Protein: 0.2 g

3 thoughts on “Cranberry Sauce

Leave a Reply

