Happy Thanksgiving!

Turkey

Happy Thanksgiving! Or – rather – Happy day-after Thanksgiving! I’ve been so busy getting our Thanksgiving plan together, and I apologize for not updating the blog in the last few weeks!

So – we had a fantastic meal, and somehow – even with 8 people attending (and eating, and taking leftovers) – we ended up with TONS of leftovers! And I didn’t even increase any of the recipes (John and I decided we would *not* double or triple any recipes, since we know that people only take a small serving of each item on Thanksgiving!). Ah well – the joy of hosting is that we get to enjoy those leftovers! ūüôā

We were quite ambitious after dinner last night – John washed LOTS of dishes, while I attacked the turkey. I pulled off all of the remaining meat (it just kept appearing when I didn’t think there was anything left – like a clown car – a clown car of meat!), and I used the carcass & skin to make turkey stock. I didn’t know where we would fit the entire bird, even though we have an amazing refrigerator, so I decided that I had time to make stock before the end of the night. It was a bit more work than I expected, but I am glad that I finished it!

This was our menu – I’ll post separate posts with the recipes, but I’ll just say this – everything was fantastic! We made some new recipes this year, and we will definitely make them again!

Appetizers:
Hummus with veggies & pita chips for dipping
Brie with jeweled fruit compote
White bean and pumpkin bisque with sage pesto

Main:
Mixed green salad with apple, cheddar, and maple balsamic dressing
Citrus & peppercorn dry-brined turkey
Turkey gravy & vegetarian gravy
Quinoa-stuffed acorn squash rings (vegetarian entrée)
Cranberry sauce
Mashed potatoes
Rosemary mashed sweet potatoes with shallots
Swiss chard & leek gratin
Green beans with sherried mushroom sauce
Stuffing
Dessert:
Pumpkin and brown sugar crème brulee

Leave a Reply

