Garlic Cheese Crockpot Grits

When I was growing up, I was *not* a fan of grits. At all. Gluey, flavorless, and pasty are the adjectives that come to mind. It wasn’t until I was almost 30 and had started eating polenta that I thought about trying grits again. I figured – it was pretty much the same as polenta, but just white corn, right?

So, one Christmas, my now mother-in-law was making breakfast, and she was cooking some garlic cheese grits. Since I was a fan of polenta, I thought it might be tasty. And it was! However, her recipe used about a stick of butter, a container of processed cheese, and took about an hour to cook!

Now, I’m not much of a morning person (especially before I’ve had my coffee!), so I needed an easier (and slightly healthier) way to make grits! I knew they would be the perfect complement to eggs, but I just needed a way to make them.

So, I had ordered this cookbook – Gourmet Vegetarian Slow Cooker: Simple and Sophisticated Meals from Around the World by Lynn Alley – after trying her first cookbook (which actually made me *like* a crockpot recipe, for the first time ever!). In the cookbook was a recipe for crockpot grits. Aha! Now I could make the grits overnight in the crockpot and wake up to breakfast almost-ready. It was the perfect solution!

I slightly modified that recipe, and came up with this one. It is a HUGE hit in our house, and so much easier (and healthier!) than the stovetop version. Enjoy!

Crockpot grits - done

Garlic Cheese Crockpot Grits
Loosely adapted from the “Gourmet Vegetarian Slow Cooker”
Serves 6

Ingredients:
1 cup stone-ground grits
4 cups water
1 tsp salt
1 tsp garlic powder

2 laughing cow light swiss wedges (added after cooking)

Directions:
Place grits, water, salt, & garlic powder in small crockpot. Cook for 8 hours.

Crockpot grits - cooking

Before eating, stir in cheese until melted.

Nutritional info:
Calories: 56.5
Total Fat: 0.7 g
Cholesterol: 1.5 mg
Sodium: 460.8 mg
Total Carbs: 9.7 g
Dietary Fiber: 0.7 g
Protein: 3.7 g

Leave a Reply

