Persimmon Salsa

Wow – just made this the other night, and I’m kicking myself for not trying it earlier. We have had persimmons in the pork & mustard green recipe, but I had another few persimmons that needed to be used and didn’t have pork or mustard greens on-hand.

So, I went about looking for another persimmon recipe, and I stumbled upon this salsa recipe. It said it worked well for fish or chicken, and I happened to have a piece of redfish to cook, so I thought – why not?

This was – hands-down – one of the BEST salsas I’ve ever made! I think I’ll be buying as many persimmons as I can (until they’re out of season) so that I can keep making this. It’s that good!

Persimmon salsa

Persimmon Salsa
From Bon Appetit, Nov 2004

Ingredients:
4 small or 3 medium-size firm but ripe Fuyu persimmons, peeled, cut into 1/2-inch cubes (about 1 2/3 cups)
2 tablespoons minced white onion, rinsed, drained
1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon fresh lime juice
1 tablespoon minced fresh basil
2 teaspoons minced seeded serrano chile
2 teaspoons minced fresh mint
1 teaspoon minced peeled fresh ginger

Directions:
Mix persimmons, onion, lime juice, basil, serrano chile, mint, and ginger in small bowl. Season salsa to taste with salt and pepper. (Salsa can be made 4 hours ahead. Cover and refrigerate. Bring to room temperature before serving.)

Leave a Reply

