Taco Seasoning

I love tacos. But I dislike the store-bought seasoning – mainly because I find it WAY too salty! And because of all of the salt, I could never actually taste the seasonings! Plus, I never think to buy it, so I decided I should figure out a way to make a tasty mix for myself, so that I could make tacos (or use the seasoning in recipes) anytime.

I’ve been making this recipe for several years now, and I love it (and so does John)! I usually make about 4-5 batches at a time (package them individually in snack-size ziplock bags or small plastic containers) so that they’re always on-hand and ready to use.

Homemade taco seasoning
Adapted from unknown recipe source
Makes 1 store-bought “packet” (4 servings)

1 tsp dried minced onion
1 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp chipotle powder
1 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp crushed red pepper
1/4 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp corn starch
1/2 tsp of salt
1 tsp tomato powder

For tacos, mix with 1/2 cup water and cooked ground meat.

Nutritional info (4 servings):
Calories: 7.6
Total Fat: 0.2 g
Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
Sodium: 298.8 mg
Total Carbs: 2.2 g
Dietary Fiber: 0.4 g
Protein: 0.3 g

2 thoughts on “Taco Seasoning

Leave a Reply

