Lentil Bolognese

This recipe has been one of my favorites, ever since my friend Jenna served it at a dinner party many years ago. At that time, I was still a bit leery of vegetarian food, but since Jenna was vegetarian and had invited several of us to dinner, I knew that I would have to try something new (and possibly foreign to me!) that night.

She mentioned ahead-of-time that she would be making pasta with lentil bolognese, so I braced myself for the worst. I wasn’t convinced that I would like lentils at that point, but to be polite, I decided I would try it. It was amazing!!! And I got the recipe! 🙂 And 12 years later, I’m still making it!

We now live about 2000 miles apart, but the next time I see my dear friend Jenna, I just might have to make this for her!

Lentil Bolognese over pasta

Lentil Bolognese
Adapted from Jenna’s recipe
Serves 6

Ingredients:
1 onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, crushed
2 carrots, grated
2 celery stalks, chopped
1 Tbsp olive oil
2/3 cup red lentils
14 oz can diced tomatoes (I like to use fire-roasted tomatoes)
1 Tbsp tomato paste
2 cups low sodium vegetable broth
1 tsp dried marjoram
salt & pepper to taste

Lentil bolognese ingredients

Directions:
1. In a pressure cooker, fry onions, garlic, carrots & celery in oil until soft.
Lentil bolognese - pressure cooker Lentil bolognese - veggies

2. Add lentils, tomatoes and paste, stock, and marjoram.
Lentil bolognese pre cook 1 Lentil bolognese - pre-cook

3. Cook on high pressure about 15 minutes until lentils are tender, remove from heat.
Lentil Bolognese - cooked

Enjoy over pasta or your favorite grain.

Nutritional info:
Calories: 137.6
Total Fat: 2.8 g
Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
Sodium: 264.5 mg
Total Carbs: 21.4 g
Dietary Fiber: 5.8 g
Protein: 7.0 g

Leave a Reply

