Hamburgers

Sometimes, I just want a good hamburger, you know? I don’t do fast-food burgers anymore, and I’m rarely impressed with eating hamburgers at a restaurant (at so-called “burger joints”). And I don’t think I’ve ever even had a lower-fat version of a hamburger at a restaurant, so a burger “out” is an extremely rare event for me.

So, when I crave a burger, I go back to my version of my mom’s hamburger recipe. Whenever I buy ground beef, I always buy an extra pound so that I can make a batch and leave them in the freezer… Then I have burgers available when the mood strikes. And these are always better than what I can get out – definitely my favorite!

Hamburger - done

Hamburgers
Adapted from Mom’s recipe
Serves 6

Ingredients:
1 lb 93% lean ground beef
1 egg
1/4 cup oatmeal
1 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 Tbsp dried minced onion
salt
pepper
hamburgers - ingredients

Directions:
Gently mix beef with other ingredients. Form into 6 patties. If desired, wrap and freeze any unused burgers (this is what I generally do).
hamburgers - formed hamburgers - wrapped hamburgers - individually wrapped

Grill to desired doneness. Or cook in a pan on the stove (I use my Calphalon Sear nonstick saute pan).
Hamburger - in pan Hamburger - cooking

Serve with your choice of bun and toppings.

**Note** Patties may be frozen (individually-wrapped in plastic wrap – see pictures) for up to 3 months and placed directly on the grill (removing plastic first, of course!).

Nutritional info:
Calories: 149.6
Total Fat: 5.8 g
Cholesterol: 74.1 mg
Sodium: 115.3 mg
Total Carbs: 3.5 g
Dietary Fiber: 0.4 g
Protein: 17.6 g

Leave a Reply

