Channa Masala

Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve added things! Lots of catching up to do!

So – we’ll start with last week’s meal of Channa Masala. My love of Indian food began many years ago, when I was in graduate school. When I started school, I had never had Indian food! Although I was a picky eater at the time, I ended up accepting a friend’s invitation for dinner. He was from India, and I had no idea what to expect. He ended up making an amazing meal, and I was amazed when one of the foods he made was a lentil dish, since I swore I didn’t like lentils! Once we graduated, I begged him for the lentil recipe, and finally got it when he wrote it on a napkin at my graduation party! I’ll have to make that one soon (so be on the lookout)!

Several years later, I was working with another friend from India, named Sailatha (we called her Sai), and she would often bring a lovely bowl of channa masala for lunch. I begged her for the recipe, and she kept saying she would eventually write it down for me. When she finally left for another job, she gave each of us a present. Mine was a recipe book, and she had hand-written her Channa Masala recipe for me!

So, this is Sai’s Channa Masala recipe, and although we miss her at work, making this recipe always reminds me of her!

Channa masala - done

Channa Masala
Recipe from Sai
Makes 6 servings

Ingredients:
3 cups canned chickpeas, rinsed & drained (2 cans)
1 Tbsp canola oil
2 medium onions, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tsp ground turmeric
3 tsp ground coriander
1 medium fresh tomato, chopped
1 cup water
2 tsp cumin seeds, dry toasted, then ground
1 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp table salt
1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 Tbsp chopped red hot chili peppers, chopped (I use approximately one cayenne pepper)
1 tsp ginger root, grated

Directions:
Toast cumin seeds dry in a small skillet, until they release their scent. Remove from heat and set aside to cool. Mash or grind when cool.
Channa masala - toasting cumin seeds

Heat oil in a large skillet. Add chopped onions, garlic and saute over medium heat until brown.

Add tumeric, coriander, and stir for a few seconds. Add chopped tomato and cook until browned lightly. Add chickpeas and 1 cup water, & stir. Add roasted cumin seeds, chili powder, salt, and lemon juice. Cook covered for 10 min.
Channa masala - in pan
Add minced chiles & ginger. Stir and cook uncovered for 30 seconds. Serve over brown basmati rice.

Nutrition Info:
Calories: 191.6
Total Fat: 4.3 g
Cholesterol: 0.0 mg
Sodium: 562.6 mg
Total Carbs: 33.1 g
Dietary Fiber: 6.9 g
Protein: 6.9 g

Leave a Reply

