Banana Bread

Banana bread always reminds me of my mom… Every time we visit her, she’s always making a fresh loaf of banana bread….mmmmmm….

Well, the other day, a co-worker brought in some over-ripe bananas, and I asked her, “So, is this a hint for me to make a banana bread and bring it to work?” She laughed it off, but true to my word, I baked banana bread and brought a loaf to work. It was gobbled up by mid-day, so I think it was a hit!

This is my interpretaion of my mom’s recipe. She uses shortening (Crisco), but since I’m concerned about trans fats, I have replaced it with organic shortening without trans fats – I use Spectrum Organic shortening, made from palm oil, and it works great!

Banana bread

Here’s what I did:

Banana Bread
Recipe adapted from Mom
Makes 24 slices (2 loaves)

Ingredients:
1/2 cup organic shortening (I use Spectrum organic brand)
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
3 medium bananas, mashed
2 cups all purpose flour (I use Ultragrain flour)
1 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
4 Tbsp buttermilk

Directions:
1. In a medium bowl, sift flour, soda, and salt. In a small bowl, mash bananas. Set aside.

2. In a large bowl, cream shortening and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla. Stir in mashed bananas.

3. Add flour sifted with soda and salt alternately with buttermilk. Pour into buttered loaf pans (2 large or 4 small) and bake in a 325 oven for 1hr 15min (45 min for small pans) or until done (brown on top). Cool.

**Note** For 4 small loaves, slice each into 6 slices. For large loaves, slice each into 12 slices.

Nutritional info:
Calories: 123.8
Total Fat: 4.6 g
Saturated Fat: 2.2 g
Polyunsaturated Fat: 0.1 g
Monounsaturated Fat: 0.2 g
Cholesterol: 15.6 mg
Sodium: 133.8 mg
Potassium: 55.1 mg
Total Carbohydrate: 18.7 g
Dietary Fiber: 1.0 g
Sugars: 10.4 g
Protein: 2.1 g

Leave a Reply

