Banana Raspberry Cupcakes

I’ve been planning to make these for a while… which explains why I have several bananas hanging out in my freezer…. I’ve had this recipe practically all of my life (it’s from the 70’s), and my mom used to make these when I was young. I’ve made them several times in the past, but just not recently.

So, I finally got around to making these for breakfast this Saturday morning! I don’t have pictures of the process, since my phone (aka my camera) was still plugged in upstairs, and John was still sleeping. So, in order to not wake him up, I didn’t get any shots of the process. However, I did get a shot of the finished cupcakes, at least! Even though I didn’t get lots of photos, we ended up with a tasty breakfast!

And we love these for breakfast – perfect with a cup of coffee. But, since they’re on the sweeter side, they would also make an excellent dessert!

Banana raspberry cupcakes

Banana Raspberry Cupcakes
Adapted from Woman’s Day magazine, June 1977 (Recipe from Mom)
Makes 10

Ingredients:
1 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 large banana, mashed (1/2 cup)
2 Tbsp skim milk
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup salted butter, softened
2/3 cup sugar
1 large egg
2 Tbsp raspberry or strawberry preserves

Directions
Stir together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt; set aside.

Mix banana, milk, and vanilla; set aside.

In large bowl, cream butter, sugar, and egg with electric mixer until fluffy. Stir in flour mixture alternately with banana mixture until well blended.

Line cupcake pan (10 spots) with paper baking cups. Spoon heaping tablespoonfuls into each of the baking cups. Add about 1/2 tsp preserves to each, then top with another tablespoon batter.

Bake on cookie sheet in preheated 375 degree oven 20-25 minutes or until tops are light golden and spring back when lightly touched.

Serving Size: Makes 10 muffins

Nutritional info:
Calories: 162.9
Total Fat: 5.3 g
Saturated Fat: 3.1 g
Polyunsaturated Fat: 0.3 g
Monounsaturated Fat: 1.4 g
Cholesterol: 30.8 mg
Sodium: 270.6 mg
Potassium: 72.4 mg
Total Carbohydrate: 27.1 g
Dietary Fiber: 0.6 g
Sugars: 16.0 g
Protein: 2.2 g

Leave a Reply

