Grilled Salmon with Smoky Tomato Salsa

I love a good salmon recipe, and the last time I went to Whole Foods (for the wild Alaskan salmon sale), I stocked up and put quite a bit of it in the freezer. That just means it’s available when I have a craving for salmon! I picked this recipe because I wanted to do something different with salmon, and I had a few fresh ingredients I needed to use – mainly some fantastic tomatoes from my garden and some jalapenos from my Greenling (http://www.greenling.com/) order.

The verdict? This was a winner! And I think I might always make salsa on the grill from now on – it was so tasty! Definitely give this a try!

Grilled Salmon with Smoky Tomato Salsa - done

Here’s what we did:

Grilled Salmon with Smoky Tomato Salsa
From Cooking Light, Sept 2009
Serves 4

Ingredients:
4 (6 ounce) skinless wild salmon fillets (I actually left the skin on, since I’m not skilled at skinning salmon!)
4 large plum tomatoes, halved
1 small red onion, cut into 1/2-inch slices (or half of a large one, if yours are gigantic)
1 jalapeno pepper, halved
1 lime, divided

Directions:
1. Prepare grill to medium-high heat. Sprinkle fillets with 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon black pepper. Place on grill rack coated
with cooking spray, and grill for 4 minutes on each side or until desired degree of doneness.

2. Meanwhile, place tomatoes, onion, and jalapeño on grill rack coated with cooking spray; grill tomatoes, cut side down, 6 minutes.
Grilled Salmon with Smoky Tomato Salsa - salsa ingredients Grilled Salmon with Smoky Tomato Salsa - grill
Turn; grill for 1 minute. Grill onion and jalapeño for 6 minutes on each side or until lightly browned. Remove from grill, and cool slightly.

3. Pulse grilled vegetables in a food processor with 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon black pepper, and juice from 1/2 lime.
Grilled Salmon with Smoky Tomato Salsa - food processor Grilled Salmon with Smoky Tomato Salsa - post food processor

Serve salsa over fish. Garnish with lime wedges.

Nutritional info:
Calories: 336
Fat: 18.6g
Protein: 34.7g
Carbohydrate: 6.2g
Fiber: 1.7g
Cholesterol: 100mg
Sodium: 399mg

Leave a Reply

